SRTS Recognition Program

Municipalities and schools (public, private, charter) will be recognized for First Step, Bronze, Silver or Gold Safe Routes to School (SRTS) levels.   Municipalities and schools can either be nominated by their Safe Routes Regional Coordinator here at Avenues in Motion, or can self- nominate for recognition as a result of involvement  and commitment to Safe Routes programs in their community or schools.   Recipients will be presented with a certificate or award depending on which level they are recognized, and they will also be listed and promoted on the NJ SRTS website.

Schools and municipalities can contact Lisa Leone and NJ SRTS  for help with applying for nomination and implementing SRTS programs.  Nominees and recipients will be required to implement walk and bike to school events, adopt supportive policies, obtain backing from local constituents, and/or use survey tools to evaluate existing conditions for walking and biking to school.

To learn more about the SRTS Recognition Program level requirements, click here.

New Jersey Safe Routes to School Recognition Program awards winners in three year cycles. The following winners have earned and maintained their statuses. 

Schools listed in bold recently earned their status in 2019. 


Central Avenue School, Madison

Netcong Elementary School, Netcong

Columbia Middle School, Berkeley Heights

William Woodruff Elementary School, Berkeley Heights

Oxford Central School, Oxford

Deerfield Elementary School, Millburn

South Mountain Elementary School, Millburn

Glenwood Elementary School, Millburn

Hartshorn Elementary School, Millburn

Wyoming Elementary School, Millburn

Washington School, Millburn

Millburn Middle School, Millburn

Lafayette School, Chatham

Milton Avenue School, Chatham

Southern Boulevard School, Chatham

Washington Avenue School, Chatham

Allen W. Roberts Elementary School, New Providence

Salt Brook Elementary School, New Providence

New Providence Middle School, New Providence

Borough of New Providence

Pompton Lakes Borough


Unity Charter School, Morristown

Berkeley Heights Township

Chatham Borough

Ogdensburg Borough Public School District, Ogdensburg

Stanhope School District, Stanhope

Torey J. Sabatini School, Madison

Town of Newton

Madison Borough

Morris Plains Borough


Durban Avenue Elementary School, Hopatcong

Edith M. Decker Elementary School, Mt. Arlington

Millburn Township

HIlldale Elementary School, Montville

Lincoln Elementary School, Pompton Lakes

Lenox Elementary School, Pompton Lakes

John F. Kennedy Elementary School, Wayne

Franklin Borough School, Franklin

Kings Road School, Madison

Hudson Maxim Elementary School, Hopatcong

Franklin Borough

Town of Boonton

Borough of Morris Plains

First Step

East Dover Elementary School, Dover

Dover Middle School, Dover

Merriam Avenue School, Newton

Town of Phillipsburg

Harrison School, West Caldwell

Jefferson Elementary School, West Caldwell

Washington Elementary School, West Caldwell

Intervale Elementary School, Pasippany

Knollwood Elementary School, Parsippany

Lake Hiawatha Elementary School, Parsippany

Littleton Elementary School, Parsippany

Northvail Elementary School, Parsippany

Roakaway Meadow Elementary School, Parsippany

Troy Hills Elementary School, Parsippany

Central Middle School, Parsippany

Brooklawn Middle School, Parsippany

Nixon Elementary School, Landing

Catherine A. Dwyer Elementary School, Rockaway

Wildwood Elementary School, Mountain Lakes

Hopatcong Middle School, Hopatcong

Tulsa Trail Elementary School, Hopatcong

Halsted Middle School, Newton

Mary Kay McMillan Early Childhood Center, Berkeley Heights

Brass Castle School, Washington

Port Colden School, Washington

Warren Hills Regional Middle School, Washington

Sussex Avenue School, Morristown

Wantage Elementary School, Wantage

Hatchery Hill Elementary School, Hackettstown

Willow Grove Elementary School, Hackettstown

Sussex Middle School, Sussex

Hamburg School, Hamburg

School Street School, Boonton

Borough School, Morris Plains

Center Grove Elementary School, Randolph

Frankford Township School, Frankford

North Boulevard Elementary School, Pompton Plains

Pequannock Valley School, Pompton Plains

Burnet Hill Elementary School, Livingston

Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills

Town of Morristown

Washington Borough

Washington Township

Oxford Township

Township of Denville

Mt. Pleasant Middle School, Livingston

Jefferson School, Summit

Memorial School, Washington Borough

Taylor Street School, Washington Borough